Business of Science

The Business of Science Leadership Awards 2019

Following the successful launch in 2017, the Business of Science Leadership Awards will again be given to pay tribute to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding business leadership in an area of science and innovation.


Business of Science Leadership Award

The 2019 Business of Science Leadership Awards will continue to celebrate the notable leadership and significant contributions of individuals to the Commercialisation of Science, irrespective of geography, sector or background.

There were 3 Leadership Awards in 2018, and nominations will again be welcomed against each of the categories:

  • Public / Charity Sector
  • Private Sector – Large
  • Private Sector – SME
  • In addition to the Leadership Award, there will again be a Special Recognition award chosen by the panel of UK-wide judges to acknowledge the significant achievement made by an individual to the business of science within Leeds City Region.

All these awards will be presented at the Business of Science pre-conference dinner which will be held at the Hilton Doubletree Hotel, only minutes from the new, South Side exit of Leeds station on the evening of Wednesday 15th May 2019.

Last Years Winners


Royal Institution, accepting awards on behalf of Richard Clegg, Managing Director, Lloyds Register Foundation and Ornella Barra, Co-COO, Walgreens Boots Alliance.


Private Sector – SME
  • Founder & MD, LPW Technology


Special Recognition Award

CEO, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

Enter The 2019 Leadership Awards

Entries are now open for the Business of Science Leadership Award 2019

To apply for the Business of Science Leadership Award you must first ensure you meet the criteria listed in the below application form and that you can demonstrate this through answering the questions provided in the application form.

Once the entry form has been completed this should be submitted for consideration via email at no later than 5 pm on Monday 18th March 2019. Please also submit any additional or supporting documents, such as videos or press releases, where relevant to your application. From there, the expert panel of judges, identified below, will be responsible for assessing each submission on its merits against the stated award criteria.

Applicants will be shortlisted based upon the following business/organisation categories:

  • Large Business
  • SME Business
  • Public/Charity
  • Applicants will be shortlisted before arriving at the identification of the winner, with the award being presented at this year’s Business of Science Pre-Conference Dinner taking place on Wednesday, 15th May 2019 at the DoubleTree Hilton Hotel, Granary Wharf, Leeds.
Download Entry Form

2019 Judges

Steve Bennett
Founder & Managing Director of Business of Science Ltd.
Geoff Mackey
Geoff Mackey
Corporate Affairs and Sustainability Director at BASF